Showing posts with label TUTORIAL. Show all posts
Showing posts with label TUTORIAL. Show all posts

TUTORIAL - HOW TO CREATE HEAVEN IN PHOTOSHOP




Step 1: Create a New Image

We will start by creating a new image file, go to the Menu bar and click File > New, and then input the following values on their respective fields:
Presets: International Paper
Size: A4
Width: 3508 pixels
Height: 2480 pixels
Resolution: 300pixels/inch
Color Mode: RGB Color; 8 bit
Background Contents: Transparent

Step 2: Create the Foreground

In this Step, we will be creating the foreground of our image, which would be inside of a cavern overseeing the sky. To start, let’s open the stock image: 1157664

Once it’s open, activate the Move tool by pressing Von your keyboard. Once activated left-click on the stock image and then while the Move tool is activated, drag it to our canvas. Upon moving to our canvas, position it here:




We positioned it there for a reason, now activate the Transform tool (Ctrl/Cmd + T) and then resize it as shown below:


The result:


Next, we would need to distort the image so it would appear symmetrical. To do that, activate the Transform tool (Ctrl/Cmd + T) and then right click on the canvas to show the Transform tool’s contextual menu. See image below:


Now, to Distort the image, follow the instructions as shown below:





The result:


Next, let’s scale the stock photo up to make it appear more symmetrical. To do that, activate the Transform tool (Ctrl/Cmd + T) and then resize it as shown below:


The result of that should be similar to this:


Now, to balance the width of the walls, we would need to pull the image to the left to make both wall sizes equal or proportioned at least. Activate the Transform tool (Ctrl/Cmd + T) and then resize as shown on the image below:


The result should be similar to this:


Now, we would need to remove the background of this image which we would be replacing with a sky in Step 2. To remove the background from this image, we would need the Polygonal Lasso Tool.


Once the Polygonal Lasso Tool is activated, use it to create a selection area around the background as shown below:


Once you’ve connected with the starting point of the Polygonal Lasso Tool, a series of broken lines will appear around the area you’ve selected. You may now press DELETE to remove this part of the image.

The result should be like this:

Step 3: Create the Background

Now, we will add the sky to complete our background. Open the stock image: 1263409

Next, activate the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M).


Once activated, use it to select the sky of the stock image. See image below:


Now, that a selection area has been made, drag this sky now to our canvas using the Move tool (V). Put this layer now below the foreground layer in the layer window by left-clicking on it and then dragging it below the foreground layer.


The image should be positioned as shown below:


Next, we would need to change the Color of the sky so it would blend in well with our foreground; to do that, make sure that the active layer is the sky and then go to Image > Adjustments > Color Balance. Once it is open, input the following values on their respective fields:
Color Levels: +35, 0, -55
Tone Balance: Midtones
Preserve Luminosity: Check


The result of that should be similar to this:


TUTORIAL - Create a Manipulation in Photoshop with fake-fisheye perspective.



Step 1

Open a new file in Photoshop.It should be about 7200 pixels wide by 4800 pixels high and 300dpi of resolution.(You can do half this sizes if this is to big for you to work in).

Step 2

Drag the Rock formation stock image into your document and rotate it slightly towards one side.This will helps us start building our perspective.


Now place the desert stock image right on top of the rock formation layer and rotate it to match their position. You can lower this layer’s opacity if you are having trouble matching them.


Add a layer mask to the desert layer and using a Soft brush (B) hardness 0% erase the top part of the image so that the horizon matches the rock formation and they blend with each other:


Step 3

Now we are going to start working on the blending between the two images. First we need to match the color of the sand on the desert stock with the rock formation image.Go to Image>Adjustments>Levels (or Ctrl+L)and apply the next settings to match the lightning:


Now go to Image>Adjustments>Hue and Saturation to adjust the color:


Go to Image>Adjustments>Brightness and Contrast to do the final adjusting:


This is how your image should look like:

Step 4

Although we matched most of the color on both images,they are not quite blended yet,they need to have a smoother transition between them.To fix this we are going to use the Cloning Stamp Tool (S) to soften the edges where the two blend.Create a new layer on top of the desert images,with the Clone tool selected, take a soft (0% hardness) large round brush with the opacity set to 45% and the sample option set to “Current and Below”. While holding Alt click somewhere in the image that will be the source point we are going to clone.Once you selected your source point,brush over the edges of the image where both Deserts meet.


Sample new sources as much as you need. Do the same along the edge to blend both images together.


Keep repeating this step until your blending looks something like this:

Step 5

Select all your layers and merge them together.(Ctrl+E)You can duplicate them and save them for later if you wish to have a backup before merging them. We need to flatten this layers to a single one because we are going to distort it to make the weird looking perspective effect. Once you have your layers merged,go to Edit>Transform>Warp and curve the image like in the example below:



Try and experiment while doing this, it might need some time to get the desired result well done.




TUTORIAL - Create Inspirational 3D Gold Text with Photoshop Extended


Step 1

Start by creating a new 1920×1200 pixels document. Select the Text tool and type in your inspirational text. The font we’re using is Bebas Neue and Pacifico. These fonts are free. Adjust the font size and leading to your likings. Use the Free Transform tool (Ctrl/Cmd+T or Edit > Free Transform) to scale your text then position the text in the middle.


To position your text perfectly in the center, select your text and background layers, switch to the Move tool, then click on the align center buttons in the options bar.

Step 2

Next we’re going to convert the text to 3D. To do this, right-click on the text layer and choose New 3D extrusion from layer.

Depending on how complicated your text is, Photoshop might give you a message that your text is too complicated for it to process. If this happens, you need to convert it to a path and use Adobe Illustrator to simply the path. To do this, right-click on the text layer and select Convert to Shape. Copy the shape layer to your clipboard then paste it into a new document in Adobe Illustrator. In Illustrator, go to Object > Path > Simplify. Checkmark the preview option then adjust the settings so that you get the least amount of points without distorting the text much. Copy and paste the text back into Photoshop. When you paste, Photoshop will ask how you want to paste your text as. Select Shape Layer then click OK. Delete the other text layer then right-click on the new shape layer and select New 3D Extrusion from selected layer.


Step 4

Once you convert your text into a 3D extrusion, Photoshop will switch you to the 3D interface. Go back into the Layers panel and select the background layer. We’re going to convert this to a 3D object so that we can use it as a wall for the 3D text. Right-click on the background layer and select Postcard. Switch back to the Layers panel and select the two layers. Merge the layers into a single 3D layer by pressing Ctrl/Cmd+E.

Step 5

We’re going to start by reducing the thickness of the 3D text. Select the 3D text layer in the 3D panel


In the Properties panel, reduce the Extrusion depth setting. You can get a better preview by going to 3D > Render to do a quick render of the scene. Photoshop will start rendering the picture and when it looks good enough, click anywhere to stop the render. Keep adjusting the setting and rendering until you get the results that you like. For my text, I used an extrusion depth of 100.


Step 6

Now we’re going to make the 3D text look gold. Select text material layers in the 3D panel. You can select multiple layers by clicking on the top material layer then holding the shift key and pressing on the last materials layer.


Your Properties panel will switch to the Materials settings. Start by setting the Diffuse color to a yellow-orange color. The color I’m using is #FFC000.

Step 7

We’re going to work on the rest of the materials later when we have everything else set up. For now, we’re going to align text layer with the background layer. Change your camera view to Left by right-clicking on the view box on the bottom-right corner and choosing Left.


Next, select the text and background layer groups. You can select multiple layers by holding the Ctrl or Cmd key. Select the Move tool then click on the align left edges button in the options bar. Now your text is aligned with the background and you can switch your view back to the Default Camera view.

Step 8

Render your scene by pressing Alt+Shift+Ctrl+R (Option+Shift+Cmd+R on Macs) to get a preview of how your text looks like. Everything looks pretty flat and if you like it this way, you can let Photoshop render the entire scene and save your image. We can do a lot more to make our quote look more dramatic by adding some lights. Lighting is a huge subject and it plays a large part in how your 3D text will look. There are many ways to light your 3D text but we’ll show you an easy one that uses just one light.


To add a light to your scene, click on the New Light button in your 3D panel and choose New Point Light.


We’re going to position this light on the top-right corner of the text and have it cast a shadow diagonally. Moving a light to the perfect spot takes a bit of experience with 3D but there’s an easier way to do this. Select the Move tool and set the 3D mode to Rotate in the options bar.


In the view box located on the bottom left of your screen, drag to reposition your view so that you are looking at your 3D text from the top-right corner. Think of it like playing a first person shooter game – you want to reposition yourself so that you can shine your flashlight from the upper-right side of the text. Once you’re in the right angle, switch your 3D mode to Slide and position yourself so that you’re further away from the 3D text. When you’re in the right position, click on the Move to View button in the Properties panel to move your point light to your current view. To make your shadow more noticeable, increase your intensity. We’ll readjust this setting later. Switch back to the Default Camera view then render the scene to preview your lighting. Play around with the camera view and light intensity to get the results that you like.